Wonder Woman Rebirth Reviewed

20.-Wonder-Woman-Rebirth-1

I haven’t read a lot of Wonder Woman comics in my lifetime. In fact, I have only read two prior to reading Wonder Woman Rebirth. I think my lack of reading about the Amazon was due to my under appreciation of the character. As a young lad, I gravitated toward stories about strong, male characters; such as, Batman or Superman. Wonder Woman flew around in an invisible jet and used a lasso to make people tell the truth – not the most entertaining aspects of the character – but those were the prominent aspects of the character featured to me when I watched Super Friends, the cartoon that sparked my interest to read DC comics.

I wanted to get the know the character before the stand-alone movie comes out, and because  I heard a lot of positive vibes about Greg Rucka’s prior penning of the Themyscira native, and that artist Liam Sharp can drawn pretty damn good, I decided to add the series to my pull list.

wonder-woman-movie-gal-gadot

This issue mainly addressed the fact that Diana’s origin is a convoluted one due to it being altered over the years. I was surprised by the fact that Diana’s origin changed so much. I would have thought that it was set in stone much like the origins of other DC characters, but that’s not the case. If you’re interested in all of the different iterations of Wonder Woman’s origin check them here.

In this issue Diana has a realization that who she is has changed over the years, and that in order for her to have a better understanding of who she is and what her purpose is, she needs to return to Olympus. From what I gathered, Olympus has been hidden from Diana – by who or what we don’t know. I like the fact that Diana comes to find out that she has been deceived/living a lie by using the lasso on herself.

Rucka did an excellent job of explaining what the major differences are regarding Diana’s origin while making it a part of the ongoing storyline that will continue in future Wonder Woman issues. Interestingly, odd numbered issue will be set in the present following Diana on her quest to find out who she is, and the even numbered issues will be a reflection on her past (issue #2 starts a Year One story). I think this is a uniquely smart way to tell a compelling story that has many layers to it.

Pages 1 through 14 were drawn by Matthew Clark, inked by Sean Parsons, and colored by Jeremy Colwell. Pages 15 through 20 were drawn (and I’m assuming inked) by Liam Sharp and colored by Laura Martin. Having a distinction of artists and colorists complemented the story and drives the point home that by page 15 of the story Diana has decided that she needs to get back to her roots to find out who she is.

new-ww
A panel from Wonder Woman Rebirth drawn by Liam Sharp & colored by Laura Martin

This issue was a perfect introduction to all of the variations of Wonder Woman’s origins , and the way that they were woven into the current storyline makes me wanting to know more about the Amazon – It’s the right mix of fantasy and mystery. Sharp’s art mixed with Laura’s colors is gripping and full of fantasy. I don’t have a problem with the new costum resembling the movie version like some do.

ROTTING BRAINS gives Wonder Woman Rebirth a…drum roll…3 1/2 out of 5 rotten brains.

brain2brain2brain2brain2

 

2 thoughts on “Wonder Woman Rebirth Reviewed

Leave a Reply

