Aquaman Rebirth Review

Aqua01.jpg

I’ll be honest, the Aquaman title is a tough sale for me to read. I’ve never been a big fan of the yellow-and-green clad superhero. I don’t mind him so much when he’s with the rest of the Justice League battling bad guys, but solo stories about “Big Tuna” don’t do it for me. That being said, I decided to give the King of the Seven Seas a read.

Initially, the book intrigued me – to be specific – the first three pages intrigued me. Not so much because of the story, but because of the art. Oscar Jimenez is the man who drew those first three pages, as well as, the last two pages of the book – the guy is an absolute talent. The detail he put into those pages was amazing. Prior to reading this issue I was not familiar with Oscar’s work, and for that, I should be punished. His art style kind of reminds me of the covers (not interiors) that David Finch is capable of.

Scot Eaton drew the remaining pages of the book, and although a valiant effort by Scot to put out quality work, it didn’t fit with Oscar’s style. Immediately, you recognize the difference in art styles, and because the difference is so striking, it’s distracting.

Aquaman-Rebirth-1-spoilers-BB.jpg
Oscar Jimenez’s bad ass Black Manta
blogger-image-1274394703.jpg
Scot Eaton’s Aquaman and Mera

The story, written by Dan Abnett, did a good job of explaining who Aquaman is and what’s his role. I didn’t realize that the gill-less-one was half-human and half-Atlantean royalty. I also found out that Aquaman can’t “talk” to fish – he can telepathically “compel” marine life to do his bidding without actually conversing with them. A much-needed clarification, but the way the clarification occurred, it reminded you of those Robot Chicken sketches or Family Guy segments that poked fun at Aquaman’s abilities. I don’t think you want to remind your readers of those portrayls of A-Man if you’re trying to get them to buy into the character.

 

The story in this issue was a one-and-done like most of the Rebirth issues. The story was ok, but it didn’t do anything to really sell me on the character. Four pages were dedicated to him talking to Mera in a diner while eating clam chowder…a bit boring if you ask me. This story may appeal to die-hard fans, but not enough intrigue or classic call-backs (that I could tell) occurred in this book to hook new readers. To me, it seems like the Rebirth issues that are compelling are those that have a good amount of mystery, tie-up loose ends from the New 52 storylines, and remind you of classic moments of the character’s past. I found it interesting that Aquaman’s suit or overall look didn’t have any similarities to the Aquaman we are going to seen in the Justice League movie. If you remember, the Wonder Woman Rebirth issue showed us Diana’s new look and it resembled her look in Batman v Superman.

Aquaman-Jason-Momoa-1.png

ROTTING BRAINS gives Aquaman Rebirth…drum roll…2 1/2 rotten brains out of 5.

brain2brain2brain2

Leave a Reply

